Mr. Heinrich Mihe Gaomab II is the African Development Bank Group Executive Director representing the Southern Africa Group II Constituency which comprises: Angola, Namibia, Mozambique, and Zimbabwe since 1st July 2016. He served also as the Alternate Executive Director from July 2013 – June 2016.

Currently he serves as the Chairman of the Operations and Development Committee of the Board of Directors overseeing the Country Strategy Papers and Portfolio
Performance Reviews and Strategic Policies on the High 5s and Operations of all 54 African Member States of the Bank.

He is the Founding Chief Executive Officer of the Namibian Competition Commission 2009 – 2016 and served as the Vice-President of the Group of Experts on Competition Policy and Law at the United Nations Conference on Trade and Economic Development (UNCTAD), 2014-2015.

Mr Gaomab II obtained a Master’s Degree in Quantitative Development Economics from the University of Warwick, United Kingdom in 1997 and a Senior Diploma in Investment Analysis and Portfolio Management from the University of South Africa in 2003.

He served on notable Boards, notably Chairman of the Government Institutions Pension Fund, Director of Institute of Corporate Governance Namibia, Commissioner of National Planning Commission, Member of Vice President Council on Economic Matters 2015-2016, Chairman of the Institute of Public Policy Research (IPPR), Member of Electoral Commission of Namibia, and President’s Economic Advisory Council of the Republic of Namibia, Council member of Namibia Chamber of Commerce and Industry (NCCI), Founding President of Namibian Economic Society since 1999 and Director of Junior Achievement Namibia and of the Institute of Governance Namibia (ICGN).

Mr. Gaomab II has 30 years of published and proven experience in development economics in the area of major economic policy decisions. He exercises ethical business leadership in corporate governance, competition law, consumer protection, regional integration, national planning and central banking.